Premier League top scorers 2021/22

Mohamed Salah and Son Heung-min shared the Premier League Golden Boot award this season, having finished with 23 goals each in 2021/22.

Harry Kane was the defending champion after holding off a lengthy challenge from Salah to narrowly finish first in the top flight scoring chart with 23 last season.

Premier League summer transfers 22/23: all offers completed

This was Kane’s third success, equaling the total of Golden Boot triumphs held by EPL’s all-time top scorer Alan Shearer.

This year Kane was looking for what would be a record breaking fourth crown.

Watch the 2022-23 Golden Boot race here!

Salah and Bruno Fernandes, both on the podium last season, entered the campaign hoping to challenge again, while an established Premier League scorer, Romelu Lukaku, returned to Chelsea after a prolific Serie A stint with Inter Milan.

Man Utd then brought Cristiano Ronaldo back to Old Trafford with a resounding comeback, making 2021/22 look like the most competitive Golden Boot race in recent years.

Former winner Jamie Vardy, Leeds forward Patrick Bamford, Everton’s Dominic Calvert-Lewin, West Ham star Michail Antonio and Aston Villa duo Ollie Watkins and Danny Ings are part of a strong contingent from winger of the “big six” English teams that were classified as contenders when the season began.

This page has been updated over the course of the season as we thoroughly reviewed the latest rankings for the players who have scored the most EPL goals. With the top flight campaign now over, we have the final results.

The Premier League Golden Boot match came down to a direct battle between Mohamed Salah and Son Heung-min in the final weeks of the season.

In the end, Liverpool forward Salah and Tottenham Son star shared the award after an exciting year.

Salah scored 23 league goals in the 2021/22 season, with that final total coming from 35 appearances (30 as a starter).

He climbed the scoring charts in England on his own for most of the campaign.

However, Salah has only scored four goals in his last 11 games in the top flight this season, allowing some of his main rivals to get closer in the standings and Son in shape to catch him at the end.

The Egyptian star needed to score just six minutes from Liverpool’s 3-1 win over Wolves on the final matchday of the season just to claim a share of the prize.

This was because Son had made it to the top of the chart. He ends the season after scoring 23 goals in 35 Premier League appearances.

The Spurs striker has scored 12 goals in his last 10 Premier League games and, having scored twice when his side won Champions League qualification by beating Norwich City 5-0 on the final matchday, he would have won a title. definitive were it not for Salah’s goal against Wolves.

Cristiano Ronaldo, meanwhile, has lost the glory of the golden shoe this season.

However, the Portuguese star finished with a respectable third place after finishing the season well from an individual point of view.

Ronaldo has scored nine league goals since March 12 despite missing a few matches – such as the last game of the season at Crystal Palace – securing a podium spot for the 37-year-old.

The veteran has made fewer starts – just 27 – than anyone else who finished in the top five.

Son’s teammate Harry Kane moved up to fourth to finish with 17 goals for the year from 37 outings.

The former Golden Boot winner has recovered after an unusually slow start to the season amid a period of intense transfer speculation linking him to Man City.

England captain Kane has scored four goals in his last three games finishing just before Ronaldo.

Salah’s Liverpool teammate Sadio Mane finished fifth with 16 goals as Reds and Spurs dominated the top of the table.

Mane came one ahead of Diogo Jota, who has spent much of the season as a key challenger to Salah, only to lose momentum amid intense competition for forward places at Liverpool as he failed to score in his last seven games EPL.

Man City top scorer Kevin De Bruyne ends in a sixth-place draw with 15, boosted by his resounding four-goal exit in a 5-1 win at Wolves towards the end of the season.

And another former Golden Boot champion Jamie Vardy has climbed to 15 goals after scoring five goals in four games for Leicester City, ending the season on a high note.

That trio finished just ahead of Crystal Palace star Wilfried Zaha (14), while Man City striker Raheem Sterling completes the top 10 along with 13 strikes to his name.

Brentford’s Ivan Toney, West Ham’s Jarrod Bowen and Leicester’s James Maddison all scored 12 goals for the campaign.

They were ahead of a group of 11 that contained the best scorers in the league for both Arsenal and Chelsea, the English duo Bukayo Saka and Mason Mount.

A total of 25 players have reached double figures in the Premier League this season, including Bruno Fernandes and Michail Antonio, who appeared to be contenders early in the campaign.

EPL top scorers 2021/22

Who are the past winners of the Premier League Golden Boot?

Winners of the EPL Golden Shoe

The record for the most goals in a season is shared by Alan Shearer (1994/95) and Andy Cole (1993/94).

Both players scored 34 goals, even though the season was longer than then: Shearer did it in 42 games and Cole in 40.

Mohamed Salah came close to that record in 2017/18, scoring 32 goals in 36 games, producing the best Premier League scoring season in 13 years.

The Golden Boot winner with the best goals per game ratio in a season is Harry Kane.

The England captain has scored 29 goals in just 30 games to win the 2016/17 title, averaging 0.97 goals per game.

Prior to this season, Arsenal and Liverpool had the most Premier League Golden Boot winners, with six each. Going into this campaign, Man Utd had five while Tottenham and Chelsea had four.

There were only three players who had scored the most goals in the EPL more than twice.

Shearer has won the Golden Boot three times, once with Newcastle and twice with the Blackburn Rovers, while Kane’s 2020/21 victory was also his third.

Salah’s success this season means he has now joined that list of three-time winners.

Thierry Henry holds the record, however, having been named Premier League top scorer on four occasions for Arsenal.

Cristiano Ronaldo and Luis Suarez both won the award, scoring 31 goals in 2007/08 and 2013/14 respectively.

The Premier League started from the 1992/93 season.

Previously, Ian Wright was the last top scorer in England when he was the old First Division.

Gary Lineker and Alan Smith were also winners in the 1990s before the championship was renamed.

Premier League: Player statistics including appearances, goals and assists

Who are the top scorers of all time in the Premier League?

Alan Shearer is the top scorer in Premier League history, having finished his career in 2006 with 260 magnificent goals to his name in the English top division.

Man Utd legend Wayne Rooney (208) is the only other player who has scored more than 200 EPL goals.

Andy Cole (187), Sergio Aguero (184), Frank Lampard (177) and Thierry Henry (175) are other former Premier League players who are at the top of the all-time list.

Kane is the highest-scoring active player and had 166 goals when he started this season.

He has long been cited as one of the rare contenders who has a chance to rival Shearer’s total record.

Before the start of 2021/22, Robbie Fowler (163), Jermain Defoe (162) and Michael Owen (150) completed the 10 players in the history of the PLA who have scored 150 or more goals.